*Updated*I Hacked Burt’s Bees Hand Salve…

Please read this disclaimer.

My husband loves Burt’s Bees Hand Salve. Living in El Paso he has always used some sort of hand salve or lotion after washing his hands and showering. We have been dabbling with all natural cleaners and body products for about 5 years now. I make whipped body butters, but he doesn’t really like them. When I finally said no more “poo” lotions he started using Burt’s Bees Hand Salve. It was the easiest to find, since you can find it everywhere, and it is a texture he likes a lot. Burt’s Bees is kind of expensive though, running about $7 for a 3oz tin.

20140520_194004

Since his tour in Afghanistan he developed a red itchy skin issue on his arm, we think it is Eczema or Psoriasis. The “rash” only flares up every few weeks and slowly goes away. The hand salve keeps the rash from cracking and itching.

This weekend he ran out, just as his rash was reappearing. So, I suggested that we try to make him some. I already had most of what I imagined to be in a hand salve without reading the label or checking out Pintrest for recipes. Plus that would be much more cost effective. (We have this saying in our home “bet.ya.won’t”) So since he suggested I wouldn’t. I did.

As I looked up recipes on Pintrest I searched and searched but could only find ONE recipe for DIY Burt’s Bees hand salve. There were tons of DIY Chap Stick recipes but only one hand salve. I decided I would have to create my own, I researched which butters and essential oils are good for eczema and dry skin. I decided I would use all three of the butters I had on hand (Mango, Shea and Coco) since I used butters in my salve, the consistency is a bit stiffer than Burt’s bees salve, but is just as effective. My salve Cost me about $1.50 to $2.50 to make and this recipe filled two tins I had cleaned out to reuse, one was a 3oz Burt’s Bees tin and the other was a larger tin, my husband’s pipe tobacco came in. This means I saved more than $10 by making my own. Okay, let’s get to it.

20140520_074313

You will need containers to store your salve in, a double boiler and the following ingredients.

½ cup of Bees wax
1/8 cup Mango butter
1/8 cup Coco butter
1/4 cup Shea butter
4 tbsp Coconut oil
30-40 drops of Jojoba oil
½ tbsp Sweet Almond oil
2 tbsp Grape Seed oil
60 drops of Tea Tree oil

Start your water boiling in the double boiler on a medium heat. Place the bees wax and butters in the top part of your boiler, allow them to melt down. Once they are liquid add coconut oil, stirring until melted into the mixture. Now you can add all the other oils. Once your mixture is all melted you can turn the heat off and pour the mixture into your containers to cool. It does not take very long for the mixture to start hardening. If the mixture hardens before you have time to fill the containers, just melt it down again.

You could add other essential oils for a different scented salve, if you would like. I would suggest the following because they are good for your skin, but any pure essential oils would work.

Lavender
Lemon
Rosemary
orange
Chamomile
Tips:

If you do not have a double boiler, you can use a rice cooker, slow cooker, or larger pot of water with smaller pot or metal bowl. (Just be careful to not burn the mixture)

If you do not have the butters you could substitute them for coconut oil. This will change the consistency of the salve.

The more oils you add the softer the consistency will be.

Try to find reusable or recycled containers to help keep your cost down.

My favorite websites to buy supplies at are: Bulk Apothecary and Essential Wholesale & Labs.

If you don’t want to make it yourself check out JEM’s Eclectic Home on Etsy.

If you like this post Check out I Hacked Vicks VapoRub…

Please read this disclaimer.

13 thoughts on “*Updated*I Hacked Burt’s Bees Hand Salve…

  1. I’m so excited to try this out! Aaron has cracked dry hands with eczema we believe. I don’t have any of those butters, only coconut oil. I’m thinking I’ll wait until I buy the butters though. I’ll let ya know how it turns out! Thanks Janelle!!

    • I think if you change your mind about waiting if you add only coconut oil it would be very soft and to only use about half of the added together amounts. But with the butters there is a better coating on the skin. Can’t wait to hear all about it. The whole process only took about 15 mins to make then about 2 hours to cool all the way. 😉 happy skin healing to you!

  2. Thanks!! I am so grateful for this recipe! I have eczema all over my body since birth. It’s better now as an adult but still a pain to keep hydrated. Can’t wait to make this!

  3. I have to try this. I’ve had eczema and psoriasis most of my life but for the last 10 years it wasn’t bad, but now it’s flaring up again. And the price is right too! Thanks Janelle

  4. Pingback: I Hacked Vicks Vapor Rub… | Jem's Eclectic Home

  5. Pingback: How to Control Your Eczema Holistically | Jem's Eclectic Home

  6. Pingback: Using Oils to Support Eczema | Janelle McCoy

  7. Pingback: How to Control Your Eczema Holistically | Janelle McCoy

Leave a comment